LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Repositories

Repositories of open educational resources

Open Educational Resource repositories listed here cover a wide variety of educational disciplines.

Use the following resources to see if a specific article is available in an open access version.

CORE
Pulls research papers from 11K data providers from around the world via a browser extension or through OAI (Open Access Initiative) identifier.
Digital Commons Network
Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text. Great for known item searches but offers limited ability to refine/limit your search.
Unpaywall: Simple Query Tool
Use this tool to check a few articles to see if they are Open Access. DOI required.
Unpaywall Browser Extension
Works with the Chrome browser to see if there is a free version of an article available.

Creative Commons
Find content you can share, use and remix.
Digital Public Library of America
"DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format."
MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
The collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages.
Network of Conservation Educators and Practitioners’ (NCEP)
American Museum of Natural History. Network of Conservation Educators and Practitioners’ (NCEP) new Module Collection Page! Explore our collection of teaching and learning diverse topics and skills in conservation. NCEP modules are developed for post-secondary level, peer-reviewed, and are adaptable and available free of charge for educational use.
OER Commons
A public digital library of open educational resources. This tool also provides a platform for authoring OERs and sharing resources with other educators.
OpenStax
High-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Wikimedia Commons